Donate towards my web hosting bill!
Welcome! » Log In » Create A New Profile

Political Irish Rap?

Posted by Moos B. 
Political Irish Rap?
July 03, 2013 02:36PM

Hi!
I'm an English student from Innsbruck, Austria and I'm trying to write a paper on politics and Irish identity in Irish rap. The course I'm writing this in is about The Troubles, so I'm especially looking for traces of this conflict. So far, I've only stumbled upon "Marxman - Sad Affair", but of course, I'd need some more material. Are there any rappers, tracks, albums that deal with Irish identity in general or specifically with the impact of the Troubles on it? Do you have any suggestions?
I really hope you could help me out here!
Re: Political Irish Rap?
July 03, 2013 04:18PM

Current mood:

pretty much anything from tera!

you get almost everyone pushing that 'fuck the governmeanrt' attitude but tera is one of the select few who actually hands on addresses things head on as opposed to the blanket statemeant of 'fuck the governmeant'

anyway, those links are guidlines, you should find plenty more from there

id actually be really interested in reading what you come up with, if your up for sharing it when your done feel free to get in contact

hope i helped!

[twitter.com]
[www.facebook.com]
[soundcloud.com]

Edited 3 time(s). Last edit at 07/03/2013 04:27PM by NotARobot.
July 03, 2013 04:22PM

This

Some of his other stuff is political. There is another track about The Lisbon Treaty too but I don't think that is what you're looking for.

There was loads of other stuff that was written about the troubles but other peoples are well more knowledgeable than me. A lot of it is cringey though .
July 03, 2013 04:42PM

nice, thanks so far! whether I'm going to share it or not depends very much on how satisfied I'll be with it. afterall, it's my very first paper in English Wink